Juni 21, 2024

Basketball: FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2026 Pre-Qualifying hosts announced.

1 min read

The Pre-Qualifying tournament will be hosted in Mexico and Rwanda between August 19 and 25, 2024. The two countries won the bid to host the tournament games.

The FIBA Board’s approval to expand the women’s competition system is to grant a larger number of National Federations for the international competition.

The nations from Africa that will take part include; Mali, Senegal, Rwanda and Mozambique women teams.

Others nations include from other continents; Brazil, Mexico, Venezuela, Argentina, New Zealand, Korea, Philippines, Lebanon, Hungary, Czech Republic, Montenegro and Great Britain will take part in the pre-qualifying tournament.

The 16 participating nations will be drawn into two tournaments with eight teams going to Mexico and other eight to Kigali.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Semi-finals while the winner of each tournament will qualify for the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2026 Qualifying tournaments in March 2026.

The draw will take place on April 25 at 15:00 EAT at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball.

For further information: fiba.basketball/news

About Author

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Pin It on Pinterest