May 29, 2024

2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations; Team News, Tournament Details, Fixtures.

1 min read

The 2022 Women’s AFCON will be held in Morocco from the 2nd to 23rd July this year.

The tournament also doubles as the African qualifiers to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The top four teams will qualify for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

We shall see twelve teams take part in this tournament. The teams that qualified include; Morocco, Uganda, Burundi, Zambia, Senegal, Togo, Nigeria, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Botswana, Cameroon and South Africa.

Uganda was the first team to join Morocco after Kenya withdrew from the qualifiers so meaning Uganda qualified automatically.

Nigeria has won the title 11 times (1991, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2016, 2018).

The 2020 edition didn’t take place due the COVID-19 pandemic.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest