June 12, 2024

COSAFA CUP: South Africa takes on Namibia as COSAFA Cup kicks off today.

1 min read

Twelve teams will take part in the 2023 COSAFA Cup that is taking place in Durban, South Africa. This is the sixth straight year South Africa is hosting this tournament from the 5th – 16th July 2023.

Zambia are the defending champions, they are in Group B with Malawi, Seychelles and Comoros. Seychelles best performance was the group stages in this tournament.

Group A has the host (South Africa), Namibia, Botswana and Eswatini. Namibia last won this tournament in 2015 after beating Mozambique.

The remaining group has 2008 and 2015 Runner-Up, Mozambique, three time champions, Angola (1999, 2001, 2004), Mauritius and Lesotho. Mauritius has reached the quarter-finals twice, that’s in 2001 and 2004.

Zambia has won this tournament 6 times (1997, 1998, 2006, 2013, 2019, 2022) followed by South Africa that has it 5 times (2002, 2007, 2008, 2016, 2021).

Today’s Fixtures:

Eswatini vs Botswana, 4pm EAT

South Africa vs Namibia, 7pm EAT

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest