April 23, 2024

Nile Special 7s: Rujumba 7s, the circuit named in the memory of rugby icon Henry Rujumba.

2 min read

The Stanbic Black Pirates are set to host the Rujumba 7s circuit as the Nile Special Series continue.

The 8th edition of Rujumba 7s circuit will be played at their home ground (Kings Park Arena) after the break on 22nd and 23rd July 2023.

Kobs Rugby Club won the 7th edition of the Rujumba 7s beating Heathens 10-07.

HENRY RUJUMBA ,the Rugby Icon!

Photo:The energetic Ugandan “Lomu” Henry Rujumba

The talent born in Fort Portal (Western Uganda) and polished by Ntare school, Henry Rujumba could only dream about the flourishing career days life had for him.

During his senior six vacation in 1998, Henry Rujumba joined Black Pirates RFC. He later featured on the national Rugby Cranes team 15s and 7s sides in 1999.

Photo: Henry Rujumba(Circled) with his fellow Uganda rugby team mates.

The rugby fraternity knew him as the Ugandan ‘Lomu’. The name inspired by the Jonah Lomu, the first true Rugby superstar playing for the New Zealand Team, the All Blacks 1995.

Adapting to true Lomu-esque style , the tall lock flanker and so fast to be deployed as a winger ,Rujumba became the beast that every team wanted to have.

Bad guy he was. Had a famous phrase as he set himself in defence in an “on your mark” position. “I am coming to finish u”, hehehehe, you’d fear to catch that ball at the wing. Great man”~ Timothy Mudoola Muwumba (former Uganda Rugby team player) said.

Time for the rugby icon came for him to change a career path. He dived more into the academics. He was a lecturer at Kampala University by the time he collapsed to his death in January 2015.

Rujumba 7s circuit was born after then. In the memory of Henry Rujumba ,the Rujumba 7s circuit is played during the national 7s Series.

The circuit is held in commemoration of other fallen Black Pirates former players; Derrick Kaswabuli , Bewatte Betungura and Tumuhairwe Deogratius . May Their Souls Continue To Rest In Peace.

The table standings after the kitgum 7s circuit.

Stanbic Black Pirates have so far the won the first two circuits of the 2023 Nile Special 7s series.

Top Nile Special 7s try scorers after Kitgum 7s circuit.

Arnold Atukanda (pirates) 14

Timothy Kisiga (Pirates) 12

Pius Ogena (Kobs) 10

Mark Osuna. (Kobs) 10

After the Rujumba 7s circuit, the Series will head west to Buhinga Stadium for the Tooro 7s circuit.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest