July 24, 2024

The Uganda Cup Returns, New Format Announced.

2 min read

Uganda Cup defending champions KOBs RFC lift the 2019 title. Photo by John Batanudde

On Tuesday, the new Rugby Uganda Cup format was announced. The Uganda Rugby Union Chief Technical Officer, Mr. Ramsey Olinga, made the revelation via the official twitter account.

In the short clip, Mr. Olinga noted that the competition would proceed as slated this Saturday, 26th November, 2022, but would take a twist after the first round.  Unlike before the draws where pretty straightforward, this time draws shall be held after every round.

Things have changed a bit, that after every round, teams will come back for a draw, in true knock out fashion. The games will not be predictable again, whoever you meet, you play.

This format shall apply to both the men’s and women’s competitions, with 8 women’s teams confirming participation. Through the same channel, Ms. Beatrice Atim, the Women’s Development Officer, confirmed the participating teams.

Anges Nakuya of the Thunderbirds evades The Avengers’ Peace Lekuru Photo by URU

The Uganda Cup brings together rugby clubs from across the country in a 16 team competition. The Top 8 proceed to play for the Uganda Cup trophy while the bottom 8 teams compete for the Uganda Shield. The Competition will run from 26th November 2022 to 17th December 2022.

History of The Uganda Cup

Since the inaugural edition in 1999, there have been only 3 different winners. Record holders The Heathens RFC of Kyadondo Rugby Club with 13 titles, The Kampala Old Boys (KOBs) RFC with 8 titles and The Black Pirates with 2 titles.

George Scott Oluoch leaves Warriors’ defenders for dead in Uganda Cup 2019 Photo by John Batanudde

The current holders, KOBs RFC had a late surge in the concluded National 7s season to clinch two circuits whereas the Heathens were off to a flying start, but both were upstaged by the Jinja Hippos RFC, who went back across the Nile River with the overall spoils.

Fixture of The Weekend

The Toyota Buffaloes RFC will have to make a short trip to Makerere Rugby Grounds, the famous Graveyard to face varsity boys, The Makerere Impis RFC. The two sides played out to 14 – 14 and 13 – 13 draws in the last Nile Special Rugby Premier League. They shall have to settle the scores in the first round this Saturday in the knock out competition.

Impis youngstar Roy Kizito takes on Jeremiah Wasswa during the National 7s Photo by Nile Special Rugby

Uganda Cup Men’s Fixtures, 26th November.

Rams vs Warriors – Makerere, 2pm.

Walukuba Barbarians vs Rhinos – Bugembe, 4pm.

Mbarara Titans vs Kobs – Mbarara, 4pm.

Kyambogo vs Stanbic Black Pirates – Kyambogo, 4pm.

Mbale Elephants vs Plascon Mongers – Mbale, 4pm.

Stallions vs Jinja Hippos – Kyadondo, 4pm.

Impis vs Buffaloes – Makerere, 4pm.

Boks vs Heathens – Kyadondo, 2pm.

Uganda Cup Women’s Fixtures, 26th November.

Kabale Berg Princesses vs Thunderbirds – Kabale, 4pm.

Avengers vs Mbale Eagles – Entebbe, 4pm.

Lira Strikers vs Ewes – Lira

Lira Matrix vs Gulu Sprinters – Lira

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest