June 21, 2024

Uganda Cranes Announce Squad for 2026 World Cup Qualifiers: A Blend of Experience and New Talent

2 min read

Uganda Cranes head coach Paul Joseph Put has announced the 28-man squad for the upcoming 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Algeria and Botswana, set to take place at the renovated Mandela National Stadium, Namboole, on June 7th and 10th, respectively.

The squad comprises four goalkeepers, nine defenders, six midfielders, and nine forwards. SC Villa leads with five players, including goalkeeper Braddy Jeans Wokorach, Ronald Ssekiganda, Umar Lutalo, Kenneth Semakula, and Patrick Jonah Kakande.

Notably, Allan Okello of Vipers SC returns, along with KCCA FC’s Joel Sserunjogi and Muhammad Shaban, the top scorer of the 2023/24 Uganda Premier League.

A new addition to the squad is defender Elio Capradossi from Serie B side Calcio Lecco FC in Italy. Capradossi, born in Kampala to an Italian father and a Congolese mother, has represented Italy at various youth levels and captained AS Roma’s U19 squad to the 2015–2016 Italian U19 Championship.

Also making a comeback is Uchechukwu Mubiru Ikpeazu, summoned by the Belgian tactician.

Uganda Cranes will face Botswana on June 7th and Algeria on June 10th at Mandela National Stadium, marking their return to the venue since 2019. Both matches will kick off at 7:00 PM EAT under floodlights.

The full Uganda Cranes squad includes:

1. Isima Bid Rashid Watenga (Lamontville Golden Arrows FC, South Africa)
2. Nafian Alionzi (Defence Forces FC, Ethiopia)
3. Crispus Kusiima (Kitara FC, Uganda)
4. Braddy Jeans Wokorach (SC Villa, Uganda)

1. Elvis Bwomono (St. Mirren FC, Scotland)
2. Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa, Uganda)
3. Isaac Muleme (FK Victoria Zizkov, Czech Republic)
4. Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (MFK Vyskov, Czech Republic)
5. Nicholas Mwere (BUL FC, Uganda)
6. Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell FC, Scotland)
7. Timothy Denis Awany (FC Ashdod, Israel)
8. Capradossi Elio (Calcio Lecco FC, Italy)
9. Halidi Lwaliwa (FK Bregainica Stip, North Macedonia)

1. Khalid Aucho (Yanga SC, Tanzania)
2. Bobosi Byaruhanga (Austin FC, USA)
3. Ronald Ssekiganda (SC Villa, Uganda)
4. Joel Sserunjogi (KCCA FC, Uganda)
5. Ibrahim Kasule (New York Red Bull II, USA)
6. Travis Mutyaba (Zamalek SC, Egypt)

1. Steven Dese Mukwala (Asante Kotoko FC, Ghana)
2. Uchechukwu Mubiru Ikpeazu (Port Vale, England)
3. Denis Omedi (Kitara FC, Uganda)
4. Muhammad Shaban (KCCA FC, Uganda)
5. Fahad Aziz Bayo (MFK Vyskov, Czech Republic)
6. Rogers Kassim Mato (Brera Strumica)
7. Patrick Jonah Kakande (SC Villa, Uganda)
8. Umar Lutalo (SC Villa, Uganda)
9. Allan Okello (Vipers SC, Uganda)

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest