May 29, 2024

Uganda Rugby Union Awards Return After a Seven Year Hiatus.

2 min read

The last time the Uganda Rugby Union held the ruggers’ Awards Dinner, it was a 2 in 1 affair. In 2014, the outstanding players from the 2013 and 2014 seasons were awarded at Imperial Royale Hotel.

Micheal Wokorach took the 2013 Mens MVP Accolade whereas Oscar Kalyango edged the former out for the 2014 title.

The stage has been set. On the 18th November at Kampala Serena Hotel, the best performing players from will be recognized at the invite only event. Unlike the combined event in 2014, only players from the past season shall be awarded.

In the male categories, it comes as no surprise that the Nile Special Rugby Premier League holders, Heathens are represented in every category.

Malcom Okello in the Breakthrough category, Aaron Ofoyrwoth in the Men’s MVP category and Coach Athiyo Muhammad in the Coach of the Year category.

In the female categories, Entebbe based Avengers RFC has dominated, representing in every category.

Faith Namugga, Peace Lekuru and Angela Nanyonjo of Avengers are joined by Black Pearls’ Charlotte Mudoola in the Female MVP Category.

Lady Cranes Captain and Avengers player Peace Lekuru

The Fans React

Across social media, Uganda Rugby fans have reacted to some of the most heated categories. Most have questioned the absence of certain players in the competitive categories while others have questioned why some categories are missing.

The reactions have taken a satirical turn as some fans have made light of their plight with parody categories and hilarious nominations.

Here is the full list of the nominees:

Male MVP of the Year

Ivan Magomu (Black Pirates)

Adrian Kasito (Kampala Old Boys)

Jacob Ocen (Jinja Hippos)

Aaron Ofoyrwoth (Heathens)

Female MVP of the Year

Peace Lekuru (Avengers)

Charlotte Mudoola (Black Pearls)

Faith Namugga (Avengers)

Angela Nanyonjo (Avengers)

Upcoming Male Player

Opileni Hossana (Mulago Rams)

Malcom Okello (Heathens)

Yasin Wasswa (Jinja Hippos)

Mark William Lukwago (Mongers)

Upcoming Female Player

Flavia Ayaa (Lira Matrix)

Maimuna Nassozi (Avengers)

Mariam Masibo (Mbale Eagles)

Janet Nandudu (Mbale Eagles)

Referee of the Year

Rosenburg Kanyunyuzi

Gonzaga Mayanja

Saudah Adiru

Coach of the Year (Domestic)

Athiyo Muhammed (Heathens)

Martial Tchumkam (Rhinos)

Robert Musinguzi (Pirates)

Richard Lumu (RAMS)

Coach of the Year (International)

Tolbert Onyango (MEN’s 7s)

Charles Onecan (WOMEN’s 7s)

Leonard Lubambula (WOMEN’s 15s)

Fred Mudoola (MEN’s 15s)

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest