April 23, 2024

Vipers SC Crowned 2021-22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League Champions

2 min read
Vipers SC have concluded their 2021/22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League season by thumping Police FC 5-0 at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Saturday. Goals by Milton Karisa (2), Bobosi Byaruhanga (2) and Yunus Sentamu were enough to see off already relegated cops.

Vipers SC Crowned 2021-22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League Champions

Vipers SC have been crowned 2021/22 StarTimes Uganda Premier League champions, their fifth title success. The champions beat Police FC 5-0 on Saturday at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

It is Roberto Oliviera’s 1st StarTimes Uganda Premier League trophy since taking charge at the Venoms in 2021, and it comes days after the Kitende-based side booked a place in the finals of the Uganda Cup which will be played on 12 June 2022 in Masindi. Vipers beat Mbarara City 6-1 on aggregate to progress to the finals.

Oliviera’s side will play Bul FC in a repeat of last season’s Stanbic Uganda Cup final. The Venoms humiliated Bul FC 8-1 at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru on Sunday, 26th September 2021 in a closed-door duel played under rainy conditions.

In a season preceding the COVID-19 pandemic, Vipers showed remarkable consistency.

The resilience and togetherness of the players, as well as the ingenuity shown by Roberto Oliviera and his backroom team, have seen them overcome every challenge they have faced and emerge as clear title winners.

Only URA FC and newcomers Arua Hill SC managed to pick maximum points against the champions.

Since defeat to Arua Hill SC at the start of January, Vipers went on to win 14 and draw three out of 17 league matches. The venoms have ended the season on a whopping 74 points, 18 points beind second placed KCCA FC. URA FC finished third on 55 points, Bul FC and Arua Hill SC finished fourth and fifth respectively (on 52 points). However, The Jinja Buls have a better goal difference (54) compared to Arua Hill’s (38).

It’s been a remarkable effort by the Venoms to secure their fifth league title – but there could yet be another thrilling chapter to write this season, with a place already secured in the finals of the Uganda Cup.

Meanwhile, Police FC, Mbarara City and Soana FC are the three sides that have been relegated to the second tier (FUFA big League)

Other Results

Arua Hill SC 1 – 0 Express FC

Bright Stars 2 – 0 Mbarara City FC

Bul FC 1 – 0 SC Villa

Busoga United 1 – 2 Gaddafi FC

KCCA FC 0 – 1 Wakiso Giants

Tooro United 0 – 7 URA FC

UPDF 1 – 2 Onduparaka FC

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest