May 18, 2024

Uganda Rugby Teams Gear Up for Olympics Repechage: A Shot at Paris Dreams.

2 min read

The Uganda Rugby Cranes and Lady Cranes are gearing up for a fierce battle alongside 11 other teams each, vying for the chance to represent their country at the Paris Olympics.

Following their strong performances in the 2023 Africa 7s tournament, where the Rugby Cranes finished third and the Lady Cranes finished third, both teams are now focused on securing Olympic qualification.

The Rugby Cranes, together with South Africa’s Blitzboks, earned the opportunity to compete in the Olympics repechage, thanks to their impressive third and second-place finishes respectively in the 2023 Africa 7s held in Zimbabwe.

Buoyed by their recent gold medal success at the Africa Games, the Uganda men’s team is determined to seize this chance.

Drawn in Pool B, the Rugby Cranes will face stiff competition from China and regular HSBC Sevens Series contenders Great Britain and Canada. Despite Canada’s current position at the bottom of the HSBC Sevens Series log and Great Britain’s ninth-place standing, the competition promises to be intense.

Meanwhile, the Lady Cranes, led by Coach Onen, are also eyeing Olympic qualification and a potential spot in the mainstay HSBC Sevens Series for 2025. Currently sitting fourth on the Challenger Series log, they are in contention for a top spot. Drawn in Pool B alongside Hong Kong China, Paraguay, and Jamaica, the Lady Cranes have a chance to prove themselves once again.

Having recently triumphed in the Africa Games in Ghana, the Lady Cranes are in good form as they prepare for the World Rugby Sevens Repechage, set to take place at the Stade Louis II in Monaco from June 21-23, 2024. With both the men’s and women’s teams poised for success, Ugandan rugby fans have much to anticipate.

Here are the pools for the Olympics Rugby Sevens Repechage:


  • Pool A: South Africa, Chile, Tonga, Mexico
  • Pool B: Great Britain, Canada, Uganda, China
  • Pool C: Spain, Hong Kong China, Papua New Guinea, Brazil


  • Pool A: Argentina, Kenya, Papua New Guinea, Samoa
  • Pool B: Uganda, Hong Kong China, Paraguay, Jamaica
  • Pool C: China, Poland, Czechia, Mexico

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest