May 29, 2024

FT: Germany 12-19 Uganda – Rugby Cranes Win Bowl Finals of the Rugby World Cup 7s 2022

2 min read
The Uganda Rugby Cranes have won their first ever Rugby World Cup Sevens.

FT: Germany 12-19 Uganda – Rugby Cranes Win Bowl Finals of the Rugby World Cup 7s 2022

The Rugby Cranes sealed an emphatic first ever victory in the Bowl Final after beating Germany 19-12.

It was a memorable day for Philip Wokorach, Ian Munyani and Michael Wokorach. The trio sprinkled some stardust as they all completed tries. Meanwhile, Philip Wokorach also made a conversion for the rugby cranes.

The rugby cranes missed the opportunity to advance to the quarter-finals of the Rugby World Cup Sevens after losing their opener against Samoa before bouncing back with two successive wins against Republic of Korea and Hong Kong to reach the bowl final.

Uganda saw off Republic of Korea with a whopping 12-00 to make their way to the semi-final of the placement games. Phillip Wokorach scored a try for the rugby cranes. Meanwhile, Norbert Okeny made a grand entry doubling Uganda’s advantage to stage a semi-final against Hong Kong.

Uganda sealed their final slot in the bowl final after thumping Hong Kong 14-5 as Adrian Kasito and the new revelation Nobert Okeny were the on-form players for the rugby cranes.

Germany, who lost to Uganda qualified for the Rugby World Cup Sevens for the first time after victory in a final qualifying match in Bucharest, Romania.

Prior to today’s meeting, the two nations last met in (August 2022) in the Challenger Series in Chile as well as at the Commonwealth Games. Germany came out on top on both encounters.

Uganda and Germany have now met six times in total with the European nation triumphing on five occasions while losing once to Uganda.

Uganda Rugby Cranes finish 17th out of 24 in the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 in Cape Town.


About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest